Nano Every and Arduino DMX Library

Hello everyone,

Really grateful for the community. It's my first time posting, so please bare with me.

I am working through using a Nano Every to work with ArduinoDMX. I have been closely following ArduinoDMX Examples

The example states clearly that this ArduinoDMX library has been tested with a Nano Every. I get a bit leery when it says to use Serial1 which outputs TX on physical pin 16... from my calculations this is D13, also SCK and the corresponding RX on 17.. which is ARef on the Nano Every.

I can get DMX Simple to work in a Uno I have, but I need to use the Every. I am not finding many examples of Nano Every boards working with DMX. I know its possible. Most positive it has to do with the serial port configuration.

I have done a bit of digging in the header files for the avr boards. Everything seems to link properly.

/*
  DMX Fade

This sketch fades the value of DMX channel 1 between 0 and 255 in steps to create a fade effect.
  All other slots are set to a value of 0.

Circuit:
   - DMX light
   - MKR board
   - MKR 485 shield
     - ISO GND connected to DMX light GND (pin 1)
     - Y connected to DMX light Data + (pin 2)
     - Z connected to DMX light Data - (pin 3)
     - Jumper positions
       - Z \/\/ Y set to ON

created 5 July 2018
  by Sandeep Mistry
*/

#include <ArduinoRS485.h>  // the ArduinoDMX library depends on ArduinoRS485
#include <ArduinoDMX.h>

const int universeSize = 6;

int brightness = 0;
int fadeAmount = 5;

void setup() {

DMX.begin(universeSize);

}

void loop() {
  // set the value of channel 1
  DMX.beginTransmission();
  DMX.write(1, 255);
  DMX.endTransmission();

delay(30);
}

With the light I have, channel 1 maps to brightness adjustment for the fixture. I expect this code to just turn the light on full level.

I have an oscilloscope connected and there is definitely no output happening. Currently connected to TX on Nano Every.