Need newbie help PLEASE - Ultrasonic Sensor

Hello

i’m very new to Arduino and am trying to achieve a simple circuit whereby an ultrasonic sensor controls the brightness of an LED light.

I have been TRAWLING the internet for this very simple tutorial and have had no luck. I’m not inept with technology and the internet, I just have only found people who have set up the circuit but need help with the coding or the final stages or whatever.

Arduino has become incredibly infuriating for me because I know this is such a simple setup and I just can’t achieve it. I’m sorry if this has been asked and answered before but any previous posts i’ve found have not been helpful or i just havent been able to understand.

I have set up the arduino so that the ultrasonic sensor can measure how far away objects are.

The board is an Arduino Uno.
The sensor is a HC-SR04 ultrasonic sensor

Pic is the setup

Can you do the things separately?

I mean:
Can you make a sketch to control the brightness of a LED?
Can you make a sketch to read an ultrasonic sensor?

Once you can do what Rob suggests, you could get the US range reading, convert to 0-255 using map(), then use that value to control the LED brightness with PWM.
It'll be good practice if you do it yourself. Don't just look for someone else's code that does exactly what you want, or you'll learn very little.

i guess i'll have to learn (i've never written any form of code before so wish me luck)

im only after simple instructions and someone else's code because it's for an art project and the deadline is approaching fast

_buchan:
i guess i’ll have to learn (i’ve never written any form of code before so wish me luck)
im only after simple instructions and someone else’s code because it’s for an art project and the deadline is approaching fast