Need to use 8 digital outputs as byte

Hi! I am very new to this technology. What I am looking for is a way to use one 8-bit IO port as byte - set all 8 pins as outputs, then write (or read) them at once as byte. Does UNO supports such functionality?

Alternative question - is there a way to program it directly in assembler?

Thanks!

Vladi

Does UNO supports such functionality?

Yes, but only one port has 8 pins, and that port includes the hardware serial pins. Look up Direct Port Manipulation.

Alternative question - is there a way to program it directly in assembler?

That depends on what "it" is. The Arduino can be programmed in assembler.

Thanks, PaulS! This worked fantastic! I am now very encouraged with the results. Now for the second part - C++ kills the poor thing - it takes about 10 times slower to do simple command like digitalWrite, and pretty much the same overhead software size wise. So - can you provide any docs or guidelines about how to upload assembler program to Arduino UNO? Are there any ready-made libraries to use, or I have to do everything from scratch?

Your help is really appreciated!

V.

Like Paul said, Direct Port Manipulation is your friend. E.g. you can set the state of 8 output pins by writing to PORTD:

PORTD = 255;  // set all pins in PORTD high

This is very fast, takes just a couple of clock cycles.

That assumes the data direction register, DDR, for PORTD (DDRD) has been set to output mode as well.
Or that pinMode(pinX) has been called for the 8 pins in setup.

See Section 14 of the datasheet: