Newbie needs help with a lights project

Hi all,

I am very new to electronics and need help with a project.

I have 40 LED lights powered by 3 AA batteries (the type you buy for small indoor Christmas tree), what I want to do is have these lights go on when “knocked” three times.

Is this possible with the aruduino? and as I am a complete novice, if someone can guide me on how to do this I would really appreciate it.

Thankyou

Should be! Are you planning on having the arduino control the on/off switch that controls the lights now? That would be pretty straightforward.

Do you have a microphone or some other way of sensing "knocks"?

Hi CrossRoads, thanks for replying.

Yes, so have the arduino turn the lights on when knocked three times, and then have them go off on one knock.

Am totally new to this so thought (think I read it somewhere) the arduino had the ability to sense "knocks"

Am totally new to this so thought (think I read it somewhere) the arduino had the ability to sense "knocks"

By itself, no it doesn't. You'd need to add a microphone of some sort or accelerometer.

can you recommend which parts I would need for this, I have looked but just so many variations am not entirely sure which ones, also which do you guys think would work better for a "knock" an accelerometer or a microphone? this all needs to fit into an area of about 3" x 5" with a depth of 1"

It really depends where your strengths are (hardware vs. software) and how much time and effort you want to expend.
A simple I2C accelerometer is more expensive than a microphone, but has much simpler interconnects and may be a single device solution.
I could even have knock detection built-in.

my strengths are definitely software rather than hardware, and havent got that much time. a single device solution sounds better to me, so what you recommend purchase wise?

thankyou again for helping