Noob here, need help with some homework

Hello, I'm trying to wrap my head around some work from school and I'm getting very lost. My base on Arduino isn't that good but we do know some very, very basic stuff.
Anyways, so basically I'm supposed to make an alarm that can do the following:

• If the sensor detects something, Alarm 1 triggers

• If Alarm 1 is turned off or broken, something else has to happen to notify the user

So what I did is set up 2 alarms and an LED. If during the 30 seconds that Alarm 1 activates it breaks, Alarm 2 triggers and the LED starts flash.

Where I'm getting confused is how to code the 30 second period where Alarm 1 is active so that, if it breaks, Alarm 2 can activate. I've been stuck here for an hour and due to the ambiguity of the assignment I'm not really sure how to solve it. Here's the code I have so far, just in case:

int led=13; // auxiliary LED
int pir=2;
int alarma1=12; // main alarm
int alarma2=7; // auxiliary alarm

void setup () {
  pinMode (pir, INPUT); 
  pinMode (led, OUTPUT);
  pinMode (alarma1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode (alarma2, OUTPUT);

}

void loop () 
{
  int estado= digitalRead(pir); // reads sensor's value

if (estado == HIGH)
  {
    digitalWrite(alarma1, HIGH);// if sensor has 1, turns on main alarm
    delay (30000); 
    digitalWrite(alarma1, LOW);
  }

else
  {
  }
}

If Alarm 1 is turned off or broken, something else has to happen to notify the user

How will you detect the alarm being turned off or broken ?

As to timing the 30 second period you cannot use delay() because it stops anything else happening. Use millis() for the timing instead

See Using millis() for timing. A beginners guide, Several things at the same time and the BlinkWithoutDelay example in the IDE

UKHeliBob:
How will you detect the alarm being turned off or broken ?