Noob Question about Transistors

I apologize for the total noob question. I've been reading articles all day long, and I still don't have a good understanding.

With a typical NPN transistor (e.g. TIP120), does the voltage /current applied to the base have to "match" the voltage / current that's going from the collector -> emitter? Or is it a fixed amount of voltage / current that will "close" the circuit and allow current to flow from C->E?

Thank you!

The voltage certainly doesn't have to match: that's what makes them useful as switches. You can switch your 12V or whatever motor with the 5V of the controller.

And the currents don't match either: the gain is the ratio of the two and that's what makes a transistor an amplifier when it's not saturated as they call it.

Depends on the transistor configuration. . You sound like you want to sink current in which case on an npn yes the collector needs to match what's on your base voltage..

Sinking can be done with 0.7v or higher 300ohms should put that transistor into high conduction from a 5v source eg arduino.

Two things are involved; the base-emitter "step" voltage, and "current gain".

In normal operation, the base-emitter junction is a diode with a threshold voltage of about 0.65V. You need to provide this much voltage for it to conduct, but once you do, you can cause quite significant current (which you must limit to a reasonable specified amount) to flow from base to emitter without the voltage across the junction increasing a great deal. Just as with a common silicon diode, and this is largely independent of whether you have anything connected to the collector (but not totally independent due to the resistance of the emitter itself).