Not receiving data from GPS (GPS Tinyshield) with Arduino Zero

I’m totally new to this, but I know how to program. I never worked with Arduinos before and I am so stuck right now.

I have a TinyScreen+ (Arduino Zero) and GPS TinyShield (Telit JF2 GPS)

I am trying to get the GPS to print ANYTHING to the serial monitor.

I’m using SerialUSB for printing and I am seeing all my debug statements come in.
I’m using Serial1 to talk to the GPS, and I am able to change from hibernate to active state and check that it worked.

However I am not receiving any data from the GPS. I read that the GPS can’t position itself if you’re indoors, which I am. However, shouldn’t I at least receive empty messages every second? I am literally not receiving a byte. (I am going to try this outdoors tomorrow but just wanted to post and see if that is the problem).

For detecting bytes, I am literally just looping on available()

while (Serial1().available() <= 0);

But it never exits that loop.

I tried it with both baud rates 4800 and 9600

While that device calls itself a shield, it does not appear to be what the Arduino calls a shield, in that it doesn't appear to plug into the Arduino.

So, how IS it connected to the Arduino?

shouldn't I at least receive empty messages every second?

Yes. Be sure the GPS TX is connected to the Arduino RX pin, and the GPS RX is connected to the Arduino TX pin.

Other Troubleshooting tips from my NeoGPS library.

Thank you for your replies.

PaulS:
While that device calls itself a shield, it does not appear to be what the Arduino calls a shield, in that it doesn't appear to plug into the Arduino.

So, how IS it connected to the Arduino?

The TinyCircuit components all have this bar for the pins where you can stack components and all he pins line up vertically.

It's stacked like this: https://tinycircuits.com/blogs/learn/tinyduino-gps-tracker-data-logger-tutorial
However my arduino zero chip is larger so they're not the same size as in the photo

-dev: