Optical encoders

Hello all hope you are well. I am only very new to the Arduino community and I am very appreciative of any assistance given. I am seeking guidance as to how to control a DC motor speed with optical encoders on the X and Y axis of a Longarm Quilting machine. The machine is mounted on rollers on the X and Y axis and is pushed around manually to achieve the desired sewing effect. An encoder on each axis detects movement and the motor is speed up or stopped as required. Encoders rotate both ways but the motor does not . All that matters is the total distance moved to ensure correct stitches per inch are achieved. Question is can someone please point me to a sketch that I can use as a basis to commence development. None of the examples for motor control I can see seem to fit the bill. There currently doesn't appear to be any existing feedback on the actual motor speed. I am at a loss on how to start and will appreciate any help given.
Thanks Mark

Finding the error in a quilting machine was an early job 35 years ago….

What exactly is the motor doing, the one You want to apply speed control to? Is it the needles movement, up and down?

yes its the main and only motor that drives the machine needle.

Every controll system has it limits. If I understand You the rigg is moved around by hands and the poor needle motor is supposed to coop with that? One way could be to alarm if the movements are too Quick for the controller.

I worked on a stepper moved rigg. I assume the movement of the rigg was controlled to give the needle a chance to manage.

You are starting on a very complex project, and you going to need to break the project down into small pieces. There is a good tutorial here on planning and Arduino project
https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=261445.0

Here's some possible small bites of coding.

Learn how to read the quadrature encoders.
Learn how to calculate distance from the x,y readings from the two encoders.