PD

Hello all

Im trying to set up an IR beam that when broken triggers a patch in PD

I think I have the circuit right but im not sure about my Code and also how to make it work with the PD example PD_inputs to PD in the help browser.

Can anyone help.

This is my code so far

int ledPin = 13; int IRpin = 7; int vald = 0; int writeChar = 65; void setup() { pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); pinMode(IRpin, INPUT); Serial.begin(9600); }

void loop() { vald = digitalRead(IRpin); writeChar = 65;

digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); Serial.println(); writeChar = writeChar + 1; } }

I have just being trying to work it out using other peoples examples for different things.

Im very new to this so its taking me ages trying to work it out.

Thanks

I have no idea what PD is but I can see that your program won’t compile because you have an extra } after writeChar = writeChar + 1;

Also, you are not sending writeChar to the serial port, did you want something like: Serial.println(writeChar);

Yeah thanks

I spotted the extra } and removed it which helped. I can upload my code to the arduino but i dont know if its not communicating with PureData (programming software similar to Max/MSP) because of my circuit or beacuse I have the code wrong.

Thanks for you help though.

Your code will send all characters in sequence regardless of the value of the IRpin, vald is not used by your program.

If your stuck, a brief explanation of what should happen when the pin is read would make it easier to provide guidance.

Thanks

When the beam is broken it is supposed to trigger a 'bang' in PD to set off a series of piano notes acording to the patch i designed.

Its part of an installation im designing.

Any help on the code is useful thanks.

The following may help you get started:

int ledPin = 13;                  
int IRpin = 7;        
char Patch[] = "whatever needs to be sent to PD"; 

void setup() 
{ 
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);   
  pinMode(IRpin, INPUT); 
  Serial.begin(9600);        
} 

void loop()