PIR sensor + LED

Hello everyone, i'm new to arduino programming. As i try to use a motion sensor i find difficulty.
problem: when i run, the led lights up and stays that way, and in the serial monitor :"motion detected" andit stays that way (even if i don't move)

I used this as an example:

Help much appreciated

I'm new to arduino programming,
I used this example for my pir sensor : Arduino with PIR Motion Sensor | Random Nerd Tutorials

results are not as expected. the led turns on and stays that way. serial monitor says"motion detected" and nothing changes.

Can anybody tell me what's wrong!

We need to see your code, your schematic and a photo of your wiring.

Grumpy_Mike:
We need to see your code, your schematic and a photo of your wiring.

I followed the tuto in this link:

No I did not ask what you followed I asked about what you have produced.

I am assuming what you followed was correct and you made a mistake, which you want us to tell you about. Without knowing what you did we can’t do that.

Your code copied and pasted from your machine allows us to see if you made any errors transposing that code and a photograph of your wiring shows us if you have got that right.

Threads merged.

Somehow, i did not see your comment.
Apologies. I’m going to provide what you asked.so the code is:

int ledPin = 13; // choose the pin for the LED
int inputPin = 2; // choose the input pin (for PIR sensor)
int pirState = LOW; // we start, assuming no motion detected
int val = 0; // variable for reading the pin status

void setup() {
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); // declare LED as output
pinMode(inputPin, INPUT); // declare sensor as input

Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){
val = digitalRead(inputPin); // read input value
if (val == HIGH) { // check if the input is HIGH
digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); // turn LED ON
if (pirState == LOW) {
// we have just turned on
Serial.println(“Motion detected!”);
// We only want to print on the output change, not state
pirState = HIGH;
}