Possible transferrate via Ethernet

Hello everybody!
Currently I am working on a project to control devices over an network by a self designed generic and dynamic porotocol. As soon as it will be ready I'll release the git repository of the library.

Hardware I may use for development:

• Arduino Uno, Duemilanove, Mega ADK Boards
  • Redfly-Shield (wlan)
  • GSM Shield

Details:

• Arduino + Shield for Internetconnection acts as Client
  • Connects to Server and receives instructions via my protocol

My first steps are to get to know how much is possible on the Arduino and the Redfly shield. My plan is to make my protocol/lib compatible to the Uno/Duemilanove especially regarding the RAM-usage.

Since I am quite new to Arduinos and also a starter in C++ languages it is hard for me to measure the Hardware limits.
It would be really nice to get some input what is possible and where the limits are. Thank you very very much for any hint, experience and so on!!

Questions (no. 1 is the more important question for me):

1. How much payload may I send via TCP (or, if there are big advantages via http) and still be able to process it with the Arduino? In other words: How many bytes may I send to the Arduino (estimated) without breaking the total limits of ram? Has anyone any suggestions what would be a good maxium value?

2. Would plain TCP (I guess this is what the 'normal' ethernet methods offer) be the best way for it? (I do not really like UDP since I need some reliability but if it's worth the price I would also take this one)

Again, Thanks for any answer!! :slight_smile:

Regards,
themilkman

Edit: In the Webclient example of the redfly shield I found an char Array which is initialized with the size of 1024. Is it correct that this means that an receive-Cache of 1024 chars is possible and realistic?
Edit2: Seller/maybe Dev of the Redfly Board also responded me and said that this should not be a problem at all.

Questions (no. 1 is the more important question for me):