Power esp8266 and led strip with a single source

I'm trying to build a wireless RGB led controller with a Wemos D1 mini, with this tutorial I've managed to light up the way I want.

But this setup would require 2 different power sources, one of 12V for the led strip and another of 5V for the ESP8266 board.

I know I can build a "voltage converter" because that's how those USB Car Cigarette Lighter Power Adapter / Charger work

So I'm thinking. Can I hack one of those adapters to receive a 12V input from the power grid outlet and provide a stable 5V for my board?

My board is a Wemos D1 mini, which takes a 3.3V. Could I, easily, provide this voltage?

P.S.: I have a background in computer science, I'm a developer and I'm starting to work with electronics, Arduino and stuff in this project, please be patient with me.

Isn't it easier to just power the Wemos D1 mini with a 5volt cellphone charger with micro-USB lead.
Leo..

Wawa:
Isn't it easier to just power the Wemos D1 mini with a 5volt cellphone charger with micro-USB lead.
Leo..

Yes, it is, but I want only one power source, like this:

A 12V to 3.3V buck converter will do the job just fine.

nicoskaralis:
I know I can build a "voltage converter" because that's how those USB Car Cigarette Lighter Power Adapter / Charger work

So I'm thinking. Can I hack one of those adapters to receive a 12V input from the power grid outlet and provide a stable 5V for my board?

You can get a step down regulator, which is essentially the electronics inside the car-cigarette-adaptor directly.

These regulators have an adjustable output voltage, which you would set to 5 V and input to your Wemos D1 on the board's 5V pin.

I'd recommend against providing 3.3V directly from the step down converter as this makes the wiring and performance of the step down converter more critical than would be with using the Wemos on-board regulator.

The item you are looking for is a dc-dc buck converter. Also known as a step-down.