Powering an Arduino Uno R3 in an automotive application

I'm working on a vehicle related project where my Arduino Uno R3 will be opening/closing a couple of mosfets on a daughter board that a friend and I put together. It's not a lot of heavy lifting. We tested it while running on power from the USB port and so far, so good. Now that we're ready to install it in the car and power it from the 2.1mm power plug, I am shopping for a DC/DC step down converter that can deliver the necessary 9V and won't allow the car to burn the Arduino during normal operation.

I was looking at these two models and was hoping that the forum could help me decide or tell me if I'm missing the mark entirely:

http://www.powerstream.com/dc6.htm http://www.powerstream.com/daa-1209.htm

Would either of these do the trick? Is one better than the other?

*My background is in CS/CE so I'm learning this as I go. **I searched before posting this question and I couldn't find anything that pointed to a specific product and that had a general consensus.

The only trouble with something like that is you're essentially paying "too much" for your application. Since the Arduino already has its own regulator, you don't need such tight tolerance on the output. They can also supply a lot more current than you would ever need if you're powering the daughter board separately.

Where do you plan on locating it? You could look at cigarette lighter USB chargers. You could get a couple of them from eBay for $5 and if need be you can hack one up to wire it directly instead of having to plug it in inside the car.

Why not connect the car's 12v supply directly to the Arduino's barrel connector? - that can take a max of 20v.