Powering Arduino uno and servo from same battery?

First off, I apologise if this has been asked before – I checked the forums as best I could before making a new topic and there were related questions, but I’m a total newbie and couldn’t work out if they were indeed asking the same question or what some of the answers meant! So please bear with me :slight_smile:

My project involves a little servo, and up to now I’ve been powering that separately from a battery, while powering my Arduino Uno via USB. Eventually, I want the project to be self contained and not linked to the computer, so I’m going to need a power source for the Arduino. Can I use the same battery? Putting the battery through Vin and powering the servo from the Arduino board is no good – it upsets other components in the project (like an LCD screen) when the servo moves, which is why I started powering the servo separately. If I connect the battery into Vin and the servo, connect all the grounds, but power the rest of the circuit from the Arduino’s 5v output, will that be okay? I’ve heard tell that the onboard voltage regulator for the Arduino does its business if the supply is between 7-12v, so I’d make sure the battery was appropriate.

I’ve included a Fritzing diagram in case my words don’t make sense… It’s the minimal representation of what I’m talking about: in the finished project I’d connect Arduino’s 5v to the top power rail on the breadboard and other components (potentiometer, LCD etc.) would connect to this.

(Also, the reason I’m keen to use the same battery for both is that space is a premium for the project, and it will be used infrequently for short periods, so I don’t need much juice :wink: Thanks!)

It may be sufficient to power the servo separately, eventually (not normally) also the LCD. Check the allowed servo voltage range! A low input voltage to the Arduino jack is preferable, i.e. 7V are better (produce less heat) than 12V.