Powering Lots of LEDs (or anything really) With "Excess" Voltage

I have been lurking for a good while but this is my first actual post. So hopefully I haven't missed a million answers to my question(s) due to ineffective searching/forum scanning. While I am asking before finalizing how I want to lay out a project I am currently working on, I am extremely new to DIY electronics so I'd like to know the answer just for the sake of knowledge as well. This will actually be my first electronics project assuming I finish it!

So to lay out current project as a starting point. I am modding a PC case and I want to toy around with various lighting effects using LEDs. My current estimation will be something to the effect of 40 5mm RGB LEDs (cheapy version I am using for design/testing/prototype are common cathode with forward voltages estimated around 2.2/3.5/3.5v and forward current of 20mA). I am using an Uno for my initial testing and just throwing together various configs on a breadboard to see what works out the best. The power supply for these will be the 12V PSU that will be powering the PC itself (840W 70A on a single +12v rail).

Some additional information: I do not need individual control of each LED though I may set up separate "zones" of several LEDs. I am however controlling the color channels individually and I may add in a "dimming" function for the whole setup (though this will probably be done in software probably as a multiplier/offset for the adjustments for the individual color channels). While prototyping is being done with an UNO for ease of use, I will probably use a pro mini or something of that size for the final design.