Prgramming Error: expected primary-expression before '.' token

Hi, Everyone
I'm actually a beginner and starting on a new project. I got this code from Google but it keeps saying this and I don't know how to fix this: "Compilation error: expected primary-expression before '.' token"

Here's the code btw:

#include <DHT.h>
#include <DHT_U.h>

#include <DHT11.h>

#define DHT11_PIN 7

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  int chk = DHT.read11(DHT11_PIN);
  Serial.print("Temperature = ");
  Serial.println(DHT.temperature);
  Serial.print("Humidity = ");
  Serial.println(DHT.humidity);
  delay(1000);
}

Your sketch is a bit of a mish mash. it appears that it is including the headers for the Adafruit_DHT library and another library that I can't immediately identify, but your code appears to be written for the DHTlib library, while not including the headers for it. The code is not quite right for that library either; there's no declaration for a dht object called DHT. Where did this sketch come from?

This is where I got the sketch
https://www.circuitbasics.com/how-to-set-up-the-dht11-humidity-sensor-on-an-arduino/

That's odd, because I don't see that sketch on that page. Where exactly do you see it?

The closest sketch I see is the "DISPLAY HUMIDITY AND TEMPERATURE ON THE SERIAL MONITOR" sketch, reproduced below:

#include <dht.h>

dht DHT;

#define DHT11_PIN 7

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){
  delay(1000);
}

which does not include the Adafruit headers, does include the DHTlib header, and declares a instance of dht called DHT; and which does compile for an Uno for me.

1 Like

The code you posted doesn't look much like any of the code at that link.

It looks like you were trying to copy the first code and ended up losing a couple of lines and picking up a couple of extra lines.

#include <dht.h>

dht DHT;

#define DHT11_PIN 7

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){
  delay(1000);
}