Problem getting UNO WiFi talking to IDE - Linux

Hi - I am new to Arduino.

I have Linux Mint 19.3 MATE - and downloaded the IDE using snap.

From snap list…
arduino-mhall119 1.8.5 5 stable mhall119

The UNO seems to power up OK - and seems to have been allocated to /dev/ttyUSB0 ok.

The next step would be to Tools/ Get board Info - but “Native Serial Port, can’t obtain info” (ref attachment)

Dmesg has …

audit: type=1400 audit(1577806316.613:19607): apparmor=“DENIED” operation=“open” profile=“snap.arduino-mhall119.arduino” name="/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb1/busnum" pid=24356 comm=“java” requested_mask=“r” denied_mask=“r” fsuid=1000 ouid=0

I suspect Apparmor is causing the problem. I tried to stopping the Apparmor service but no change.

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks

Paul

Screenshot at 2019-12-31 23-52-52.png

Thanks juraj - I did as per the link suggestion.

crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 188, 0 Jan 1 07:00 /dev/ttyUSB0

And then
sudo usermod -a -G dialout paul

But no change

[ 1780.719206] kauditd_printk_skb: 2 callbacks suppressed
[ 1780.719211] audit: type=1400 audit(1577833653.434:131): apparmor="DENIED" operation="open" profile="snap.arduino-mhall119.arduino" name="/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb1/1-4/busnum" pid=7044 comm="java" requested_mask="r" denied_mask="r" fsuid=1000 ouid=0

I will keep digging - it's a learning curve for me but I suspect it's something to do with linux snap and permissions.
apparmor="DENIED" operation="open" profile="snap.arduino-mhall119.arduino"

Next step. I will take linux snap out of the equation and download the IDE conventionally.

Paul

ph28:
Thanks juraj - I did as per the link suggestion.

crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 188, 0 Jan 1 07:00 /dev/ttyUSB0

And then
sudo usermod -a -G dialout paul

and did you logout and login?

Hi juraj,

Yes - I logged in & out.

I removed the Linux snap installation and downloaded & installed the tarball arduino-1.8.10-linux64.tar