Problem setting the baud rate [RESOLVED]

Hi,

I am new to Arduino, and am trying to use an Arduino Uno to send serial commands--so output only. My problem is that I want to use optoisolators, and the Arduino seems to send the serial commands at too high a speed. I know I should change the baud rate, but strangely, when I change it in the code data is written at the same speed. I am looking at the output on an oscilloscope, and the bits are written at the same rate no matter what I set for the baud rate. My code is attached below--I'd appreciate any help!

Thanks,
Andrea

#include "SPI.h" // necessary library
int ss=10; // using digital pin 10 for SPI slave select

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(300);
pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
pinMode(ss, OUTPUT); // we use this for SS pin
SPI.begin(); // wake up the SPI bus.
SPI.setBitOrder(MSBFIRST); //correct order for AD5764.
SPI.setDataMode(SPI_MODE1); //1 and 3 communicate with DAC. 1 is the only one that works with no clock divider.

}

void setValue(byte DB[3])
{
SPI.transfer(DB[0]); // send command byte. 00 (write-bar, 0) 010 (data register) 100 (select A-D). decimal: A = 16, B = 17, C = 18, D = 19, all = 20.
SPI.transfer(DB[1]); // most significant data bits
SPI.transfer(DB[2]);//lowest 8 data bits
}

void loop()
{
Serial.flush();
byte bytes[3];
bytes[0]=85;
bytes[1]=85;
bytes[2]=85;
setValue(bytes);
delay(500);
}

SPI_comm_loop.ino (906 Bytes)

I think you are confusing the RS-232 Serial port with the SPI port. Serial.begin(300) sets the RS-232 serial port. It has nothing to do with the speed of the SPI port. I really doubt that you can get it as low as 300 baud.
The SPI speed is set by specifying a divider like this:

SPI.setClockDivider(SPI_CLOCK_DIV2);

[edited]This can go from 2 down to 128 in powers of 2 - for example, SPI_CLOCK_DIV32
IIRC the default is SPI_CLOCK_DIV4

Why do you want to slow down the SPI clock?

Pete

Pete,