Problem using square wave and external interrupt

I am trying to use a 60 Hz square wave (derived from an ac/ac adapter) to trigger an external interrupt in order to create a timing signal I can use for a time-telling clock. Although the square wave seems to be of a high enough quality, and the code seems ok, the clock runs almost, but not quite, twice as fast as it should. I'm quite new to programming, and find myself pretty stumped. Is there a problem with my code? or is there some glitch in my square wave that I'm not seeing on the scope somehow?

Square wave, as measured on pin 4 of ATMEGA328 (Arduino Dig2) using Tek TDS3014B:

Freq: 60.0Hz
High: 4.7V
Low: 0.6V
Rise time: 0.9ms
Fall time: 0.4ms
Duty cycle: High 53%

The code:

#define latchPin 19  //Pin connected to RCK of Shift Register
int clockPin = 13;  //Pin connected to SCK of Shift Register
int dataPin = 10;   //Pin connected to SER of Shift Register

#define clockFreq 60 //The frequency of the timing clock in Hz

volatile int clockCount = 0; //interrupt counter

int lastclockCount = 0; //Interrupt counter state change detection
int secOnes = 0;  //Seconds ones register
int secTens = 0;  //Seconds tens register
int minOnes = 0;
int minTens = 0;
int hourOnes = 2;
int hourTens = 1;

void setup() {
  pinMode(2, INPUT);
  attachInterrupt(0, clock, FALLING); // create interrupt.  activates on falling edge of pulse applied to Dig2 (interrupt channel 0)  
  interrupts();

//set up pins for communication with shift registers
  pinMode(latchPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(clockPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dataPin, OUTPUT);
}

loop(){
//Time display routine 
  digitalWrite(latchPin, LOW);  //ground latchPin and hold low for as long as you are transmitting
  shiftOut(dataPin, clockPin, MSBFIRST, (hourTens * 16 + hourOnes));
  shiftOut(dataPin, clockPin, MSBFIRST, (minTens * 16 + minOnes));
  shiftOut(dataPin, clockPin, MSBFIRST, (secTens * 16 + secOnes));