Problem with reading data from Arduino in Unity - getting malformed strings

Hi all, this is my first post and I’m relatively new to both C# and Arduino, so I’m hoping I’ve just made a silly error in how I’m implementing something.

I have an arduino hooked up to a rotary encoder which I am using to send information to Unity, with the intention of having these data control the player movement.

However, I am having a problem where Unity will incorrectly read the string I am sending from the Arduino. I have tried a few variations of code on the arduino side, but they all end up with the same problem.

At the moment, the Arduino counts the increment on the rotary encoder, returning a number between 0 and 1023. Unity polls the Arduino to read the latest value each time Update() is called.

I have copied both codes I am using below. I am expecting to print a number between 0-1023 to the Unity console. This generally works, but occasionally the printed number is not the same number that the arduino is sending. For example, the following numbers should be read by Unity when it polls the Arduino:
[500, 512, 520, 530, 541]
But instead Unity will read something like:
[500, 512, 2, 0, 530].

I have also tried things like having the Arduino accumulate from 0, then whenever Unity polls the Arduino it will also send a signal telling the Arduino to reset it’s counter back to 0, as I was hoping that dealing with smaller integers/string lengths might solve my problem, however I still had the same issue.

I am assuming that this is an issue of the data sent from the Arduino becoming malformed when Unity attempts to read it, as the serial monitor for the Arduino always shows the expected output. However, after playing around with it for a while and trying to google some similar problems I have been unable to come up with a solution. I was wondering if anyone has experienced any similar issues, or has any idea about how I might fix this?