project 4 digit 7 segment clock

hi everyone im a beginner to arduino with limited programming exp in c++ but am trying to build a clock as a first project using rtc DS3231 and 4 digit 7 segment display going to use 2 shift registers 74hc595 for the display but have no clue on how to interface the rtc with the 4 digit 7 segment display i only know how to interface with the lcd at the moment

What have you done in programming?

Have you Googled 'ds3231 arduino 7 segment'

just basics in arduino projects handbook by mark geddes this will be my first project my rtc already has current time and date setup but i dont know how to display it on the 4 digit 7 segment at the moment

still learning code as i gg what i need to know is how to get hours mins secs from rtc to display on the seven segment im going to keep on it till i can work it out but would like some pointers not spoilers thanks

Look at sketches that send a counter variable to the 7 segment display.
There will be an array you access which can convert a number into a segment pattern.

When you get that working, it is a simple matter of adding the DS3231 section and send hours and minutes to the 7 segment code.

Of course, I tend to recommend using a proper display driver based on the MAX7219.

Actually, just use one of these:

Uses a TM1637, not a MAX7219 but the code is readily available.

Proper ?
Oh... you mean easy. OK

No, I actually mean proper.

An IC designed for the purpose, which is able to deliver adequate multiplexing drive to the display within its ratings - unlike the 74HC595s. Something you would reasonably require in a "production" version.

Now since it also performs the multiplexing, it is easier, and delays in the code do not generate flicker, which I would consider another "proper" aspect.

Oh... you mean easy. OK

Are you implying you should do everything using discrete components?

xostarfoxox: