Project: Switching a 60W, 12V DC siren ON / OFF with an arduino

Hi all,

I am working on my first Arduino project and would need some help from you guys as I am a SW engineer with very basic knowledge of electronics.

Short description of the project:
I would like to switch ON / OFF a siren using a 12V trigger signal which is generated by another device. However, I want to ignore the trigger signals which are shorter than cca. 3 seconds.
A simple diagram representing the idea:

Idea (1).png

That being said, I can think of 2 ideas on how to solve this challenge:

1. With an electrical circuit (I have zero idea on how to do that)
  2. With an Arduino and a relay

I figured I'd go with the second option simply because I believe I can implement it with some support from you guys :slight_smile: But I am open to hear reasons why option 1 would be much better.

Anyway, going for the second option, here is a diagram of how I would connect everything together:

Here are the components from the diagram, which I was planning on using:
Component A
Component B
Component C
Component D

Here are some of the doubts / questions I have about the diagram I drew:
-Are the chosen components OK for what I am doing?
-Can Arduino and relay be powered by the same power adapter?
-Should there be a ground connection between Arduino and Triggering device?
-Can I get rid of the relay completely and use Arduino as a relay?
-Are all the electrical connections OK?
-Are the AC / DC currents handled correctly?
-Will this work at all?
-Is there anything that could be done better?

Thank you very much for your inputs! Looking forward to your feedback.

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

Please read the first post in any forum entitled how to use this forum.
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html

If you read this, you will find how to attach and display your images in your post.

You can do what you need in software, it just the interfacing that needs sorting out.

Tom.. :slight_smile:

Hi,