Project with stepper motor (alimentation questions)

Hi everyone :slight_smile: ,

I am a perfect noob at this so would like to some confirmation before I start buying all I need.

I would like to power a stepper (this one: http://vslot-europe.com/home/45-high-torque-nema-17-stepper-motor.html)

I have chosen the following driver: http://www.robotshop.com/eu/fr/controleur-moteurs-v2-arduino.html

Then I also would like to power the driver using a battery. I have found this: http://www.robotshop.com/eu/en/dfrobot-7-4v-lipo-2200mah-battery.html

Questions:
1/ Is there a problem using those elements together ? How to improve?
2/ If I power the driver, will I still need to power the arduino or do I need a small battery for the Arduino (I use an Arduino Uno btw)

Thank in advance for your help ;D ;D ;D

I would highly recommend a battery charger with a long cord to charge the battery every few minutes as it kills the battery.

That battery is just perfect to power the Arduino for a day.
Now find a mucho bigger one to power the motor.
Leo..

I think that shield uses an L298 for motor control - that is a very poor choice for driving a stepper motor. You should use a specialized stepper driver. Your motor needs 1.5 amps so I suggest you use a Pololu DRV8825 or equivalent.

See stepper motor basics

Stepper motors require their full current all of the time, including when stationary which makes them very inefficient. You will need a large battery.

Also, your motor will perform better with a higher voltage - 12v or 24v (and, of course, a specialized stepper driver)

...R

there are carts, and there are horses.....

on this project, it seems there are a few carts and no horses.

before anyone can recommend anything,
before any selection of parts or circuits.

you need to figure out what you are doing.

you have a perfect XY problem here, you want us to offer specific answers to parts that you selected, but we are not aware of the APPLICATION.