Pulse counter with Timer ?

I have not found so far any way to use the Timers of Arduino as pulse counters.

I'd like a counter to collect pulses so that I can read the cumulated pulses from the counter register, reset the counter and let it continue running. I'm not interested in frequency, length of pulse nor time between them. All the mathematics will be done elsewhere. The frequency of these pulses vary from once per 5 minutes to 10kHz

Is there any examples ? I have found none.

I've been using counters in other environments for about 30 years and know enough about electronics.

mistofeles: The frequency of these pulses vary from once per 5 minutes to 10kHz

Is there any examples ? I have found none.

I've been using counters in other environments for about 30 years and know enough about electronics.

Frequencies up to 10 kHz can be counted by using hardware interrupts on the RISING or FALLING flank. Hardware interrupts are directly supported by the Arduino core library ("attachInterrupt()").

But at 10 kHz the period is only 100µs, so you better not use that in programs that either disables interrupts for more than 100µs or that use interrupt handling routines that run longer than 100µs.

What you perhaps are referring to is using a timer as a hardware counter, which is not very common in the Arduino programming environment as - by board design this is only possible with one single pin (pin number depends on the board) - using a timer as a counter with external clock signal is not supported by the Arduino core library

But it can be done with direct register/port programming. Perhaps you better watch out for "AVR Atmega demo code" instead of "Arduino demo code" doing so.

It's easy to set up an interrupt to count pulses on an input pin. Easy peasy, one line interrupt handler.

volatile long int count;
void countISR ()
{
count++;
}