question about capacitors

Hey y'all, :slight_smile: i have a question about the capacitors used in this schematics i found on the arduino site:

I was looking over electronics stores for the right capacitors for the job, and it turned out there are numerous types of 10uF and 100nF capacitors. Most of them have a voltage raging from usually about 50 till multiple thousands. I'm a total noob at electronics, i just want to have fun with programming the thing, so i have no clue what capacitors to get. I would imagine since the thing runs on 5 volts, it would be a good idea to find a 5V 100uF and 100nF capacitor, but either those don't exist, or the webshops i was looking at don't carry them...

So the actual question: can someone point me out which capacitors i need? :-[(damn i feel like an awefull noob...)

I would imagine since the thing runs on 5 volts, it would be a good idea to find a 5V 100uF and 100nF capacitor, but either those don't exist, or the webshops i was looking at don't carry them...

I'm a software guy pretending to know something about hardware :slight_smile: but AFAIK the voltage rating on capacitors is the maximum voltage they can handle so you just want something that's higher than 5V. (There's probably some rule of thumb of how much higher you should allow but at 5 volts anything should do.) I'm not 100% percent sure at what point using "too high" values would cause problems--I assume it affects physical size mostly.

So the actual question: can someone point me out which capacitors i need?

My partially informed suggestion would a 50V rating should be fine. From a quick glance at the schematic I'm assuming those capacitors are used for power de-coupling. You might want to try looking it up.

i feel like an awefull noob...

Relax, you gotta start somewhere--being able to articulate your question, show some research and be polite like you have done is a good start and better than some! :smiley:

--Phil.