Questions about SMD capacitors and which to use (ceramic, class 1/2, interpeting datasheet schematics)

Hello,

I'm fairly new to the topic and about to design my own first pcb, soldering my own MCU onto it, finally moving on from arduino boards and breadboards.
I am very confused about when reading a datasheet or a tutorial and they recommend a capacitor. Schematics, descriptions and explanations only account for the amount of capacitance the capacitor is supposed to(!) have. Nowhere do they say anything about which type ("class?" - at least for ceramic capacitors) you are supposed to use.

My knowledge so far:

1. I would guess, unless specified, a ceramic capacitor type is almost always the way to go. If a datasheet calls for something else, that will actually be told.
  2. Capacitors are (mostly) used as a buffer (to provide energy for sudden higher currents), and also used to filter out noise (by filtering out noise from other components but also preventing noise from being generated by acting as a buffer as I just mentioned so voltage does remain stable).
  3. Capacitors of different capacitance have difference impedance curves.
  4. Ceramic capacitors have two classes. One is more accurate and temperature stable (as in the capacitance is) (class 1) than the other (class 2).

I saw various videos and slideshows, and read numerous articles on this topic. However I actually feel more confused, as most of these seem to be focused on showing and telling why people with more advanced and in-depth electronics knowledge have been choosing the wrong capacitors and less about hands-on approaches on what type to pick when. They also introduce a lot of different concepts and terminologies very quickly and abundantly that I am not yet familiar with. There doesn't seem to be a step by step approach that gradually gives me more information which makes it very difficult for me to ease into this.

My questions: