radio receiver and arduino

hi guys. i'm working on a project using arduino and since i'm very new to electronics i ran into some issues. i'll split this post in two since the powers that be decided that my very first post should not contain any links or images.

i'm trying to re-use some parts from a ultrasonic car parking sensors kit. i could not find any info about the kit (i did not buy it, i got it from a friend) since it has no product number, no info about the manufacturer, nothing. the box looks like this (click on the thumbnail for a larger version):

the kit consists of a display module (the one in the picture above) and a sensors module. the two communicate by radio (i think). the display is very big and ugly and it has a lot of "features" that i do not want, all i care about is the information from the sensors. long story short, i want to use arduino to read the imput from the sensors module, which looks like this:

i'm not gonna mess around with that one, it's fine as it is. i took apart the display module and i found something that looks like a radio receiver:

| | | | | - | - | - | | display pcb | receiver top | receiver bottom |

the only info i could find about this radio receiver is at this link. since i'm a noob, here's my first question: where on the arduino do i connect the 'Data' pin of the radio receiver? a digital pin, an analog one or the RX pin? that chinese web page says "Transfer Rate: 4.80KBPS" which make me think i should connect it to the arduino RX pin and use Serial.begin(4800) and Serial.read() but i'm not sure and i don't want to ruin my arduino. speaking of which, is it possible to fry my chip if i make some wrong connections? should i put a resistor between the RX pin and the receiver? sorry if my questions seem dumb...