Raspberry Pi Pico and ADS7828

I've been working with the Raspberry Pi Pico for a project, but I need more ADC inputs than the pico itself has. To work around this issue, I've gotten an ADS7828, but I'm not sure how to use it so I've been going in circles...

I need to use the Arduino IDE, but the documentation on the subject is sparce or unclear (at least to me). The pinout for the 7828 is as follows:

I see the SCL and SDA pins, which I should be able to connect to the Pico: to simplify everything, I can use the default GP4 and GP5.

[I can't upload a second image with the pico pinout since I'm a new user]

Now the problem I face here is I'm not sure how to declare them in the code. I'm also not sure what the slaves A0 and A1 on the 7828 work and whether I need to connect them to the Pico or not (if I do, I also need to know how to declare them)

I'm new to this kind of situation as I've only done projects with a lot of documentation in the past, so I'm not sure how to approach this and would appreciate some help.

Thanks!

A0 and A1 are used as an address offset in case several ADC are used. Just connect them to GND and use the base address.

1 Like

Hi, welcome to the forum.
Are you using the Raspberry Pi Pico with the Arduino IDE with C++ ?
Then you can use a normal library and hope that the environment for the Raspberry Pi Pico is good enough by now to be compatible.

Have you installed the Raspberry Pi Pico board in the Arduino IDE ?

I suggest to use the default pins. A call to Wire.begin(); should use the default.

Connect SDA to SDA, and SCL to SCL. Add pullup resistors of 10k.
Then the next step is to upload a I2C Scanner sketch to check if it can find the chip.

After that you can try to find a good library.
This one seems simple : https://github.com/ControlEverythingCommunity/ADS7828/blob/master/Arduino/ADS7828.ino

ADS7828 manufacturer's page: https://www.ti.com/product/ADS7828.
To understand the chip, you have to read the datasheet.