RC Vehicle Help with Coding

Hey All,

I am still a newbie in Arduino and would very appreciate help please. I need to (for a competition I am in) program my vehicle to run: four motors (one in each wheel), a controller (preferably and Xbox or Playstation controller), and four wheel steer with two servos. I would also like to learn how to read inputs from my dc motor (with the encoder) to implement a basic traction control.

As apart of the competition (Land Rover 4x4 in schools), we have to have two basic functions that need to be coded, they are to have a light sensor that reads the lux level to turn a set of lights on if it gets below a certain light level (determined by the competition technical regulations document) and a tilt sensor to read the angle the vehicle is tilted on, and then set a tone off when it gets above approx. 22 degrees from horizontal. The code I just used for the last competition just gone is below (it is very basic):

int led = 13;
int tiltSensor = A0;
int angle = 0;
int lightSensor = A3;
int lightLevel = 0;
int buzzer = 11;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600); 
}

void loop()
{
  tiltCode();
  lightSensorCode();
}

void tiltCode()
{
  angle = analogRead(tiltSensor);
  if(angle > 370 || angle < 280)
  {
    tone(buzzer, 1000);
  }
  else
  {
    noTone(buzzer);
  }
}

void lightSensorCode()
{
  lightLevel = analogRead(lightSensor);
  Serial.println(lightLevel);
  if(lightLevel < 15)
  {
    digitalWrite(led, HIGH);
  }
  else
  {
    digitalWrite(led, LOW);
  }
}

In this competition you do not have to code your steering and motors, but rather you can (if you wish) just install a receiver for an RC controller and plug your servos and motors into this. Although I would like to be able to have coded our Arduino to run the motors, servos, sensors and controller of our choice.