Re: rtc clock

Hi there.

I'm currently doing a project where I need to use an RTC to keep time of measurements I have to make.

My setup is an Arduino MEGA 2560, an Arduino Tiny RTC I2C DS1307, an SD Micro-SD Card Breakout Module, and finally an Emon TX Arduino shield. And long story short, today, out of the blue, my rtc stoped working. After searching on the foruns, I came across several posts that said that the module I use, although cheap, is basically "crap". They break very easily, they have more resistances than they need, etc, etc, etc.

Again, after searching a while, most people agree that the DS3132 is the best low price/quality RTC.

My question is: Can I use an DS3231 RTC module, say like the one I posted on the link below, and still use the DS1307 library like the one cattledog said? I ask this because I'm used to that library. and because out of all the one's I viewed, it seemed the simpler one (this is maybe because i'm kind of new to the whole programming scene, and honestly that library and those examples were just plain understandable and simple :cold_sweat: )

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DS3231-AT24C32-IIC-High-Precision-RTC-Module-Clock-Timer-Memory-Module-Arduino-H-/351149610735?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Components_Supplies_ET&hash=item51c225d6ef

Thanks in advance for any feedback you guys can give me.

João Almeida.

There are (at least) two flavors of the DS3231 chip floating around. Most libraries expect the DS3231SN chip, but I got an RTC that looks exactly like yours (prolly made in the same Chinese factory) that has the DS3231N (no S) chip on it. The standard DS1307 libraries can be used to read the time on the DS3231N (no S) chip, but they are unable to set the time.

To set the time, I had to use the DS3231RTC library written by trunet, available on Github (RTC3231.write command). Otherwise, it works the same.