Reading a narrowband o2 sensor

I am working on a project and need to read the voltages produced by the heater and sensor element on a narrowband oxygen sensor. I need to have ability to test if the sensor’s heater and sensor element is working properly. I have read several postings on how to read small voltages with the Arduino, but sill am not quiet understanding. Maybe someone has done this previously and can provide a bit of input on my project.

I have read that I might need an op amp to do this, but do not know which I might need. I need to read the sensor at a fairly high resolution. I am fairly new to the arduino, but do know basic coding with it. My main issue is understanding the correct circuit to read the sensor.

For the heater: I have a resistor connected on the low side of heater and was thinking that I could get a reading from the heater by probing on either side of the resistor. I believe if the heater is bad, open circuit, then I should not get any voltage on either side of the resistor. I have attached a picture below.

EDIT: I forgot to draw the 2 leading coming out of the SENSOR element, so just pre tent their are 4 wires coming out of the sensor.

Photo on 2-11-14 at 12.05 PM.jpg

Perhaps you have a datasheet on the actual sensor?

Are you testing the sensor in situ, or in isolation? If it's in the vehicle you can do a very quick and easy sanity test just by looking for the output state cycling high/low when the engine is (supposed to be) running closed loop. This will also give you advance warning when the sensor is getting dirty and starting to lag since the feedbacl loop runs slower and tends to overshoot more which you see as increased cycling times on the output. If the engine is cycling as expected then this is evidence that all the emissions control hardware is working correctly. If it isn't there is probably a fault somewhere - not necessarily in the O2 sensor.