Reading GPS Time Causing Multiplexing Flickering

Hi,
I am an avid Nixie clock collector and I am developing ideas how to build and program my own using an Atmel chip.

I am still learning coding and electronics so as a starting point I had an Arduino Uno outputting to individual 7 segment LED's using direct output and multiplexing (ie.e no shift registers in the mix). Initially I just programmed a simple counter to confirm the multiplexing routine and it worked great.

Then I added an Adafruit ultimate GPS breakout board and used their GPS library. For those not familiar with it, this board has a built-in RTC but it is not accessible to set or read from the Arduino, it is only to assist the GPS recover faster. To get time from this, I have to read the GPS data directly and parse it. The GPS board has to be set up as a serial device using gps.begin(9600) and the library is set to update at 1Hz.

I can get perfect operation and updating of GPS time, but when the serial connection with the GPS is active, I am seeing a flickering about once per second on the LED's. It's as if the reading and parsing of the GPS data is causing sligt delays in the multiplex routine. I can confirm this because if I just comment out the gps.begin(9600) line, then the flickering stops (but of course so does any updating time display updating)

The only time I was able to avoid this flicker while reading GPS time was by using another set od LED's mounted on the Adafruit LED backpack which contains its own driver / register chip. But of course this is irrelevant because my final aim is nixie display.

I tried the same setup outputting through an Arduinix board and nixies and got exactly the same result.

I have tried reprogramming to avoid using delay() in the multiplexing routine and I even tried direct port addressing instead of digital.Write to speed things up, but still get the same consistent flicker.