Real Newwbie needs to understand :-)

Hi everyone!
I just bought my first arduino! I am a computer programmer but I am also ZERO in electronics (lol)
I would like to understand one simple thing. if I have to use multiple buttons, one lcd display, and various other "peripherals" connected to my arduino board... can I use the same input channel for multiple "purpose"? My question came natural when I first used the LCD and wanted to "control" the data displayed using 6 buttons (4 arrows buttons, 1 "enter" and 1 "back" buttons)... let's suppose I need to connect many "inputs" more than the ports number... how to do it?
I understand that my question is pretty stupid but it's my very first time into electronics and I need to start up and understand :smiley:
Thanks in advance!

How many inputs ?

Welcome to the group.

Which Arduino do you have?

You can attach port expanders if you need more inputs/outputs.

Different Arduinos have different port pin counts.

BTW, always best to show us, in a schematic, what you are proposing to make.

I understand that my question is pretty stupid but it's my very first time into electronics

I think Larry will agree with me that as 'first questions' go, that was one of smarter ones...

(and you have to trust me when I say we don't give out compliments to just anybody...)

The only way to use several buttons on the same pin and to differentiate what button is pressed is to use an analogue pin and a resistor ladder. Like the one shown here:-
https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=440200.msg3032387#msg3032387

I agree with mike.

I did a quick google search and came up with this :

This is also interesting:
http://www.circuitbasics.com/how-to-set-up-a-keypad-on-an-arduino/

larryd:
Welcome to the group.

Which Arduino do you have?

You can attach port expanders if you need more inputs/outputs.

Different Arduinos have different port pin counts.

BTW, always best to show us, in a schematic, what you are proposing to make.