Remote Reward Dog Trainer

Hi!

I am a total newbe in arduino and start to make a remote reward controlled dog trainer.
After filling the reward feeder I want a step motor to rotate 1/10 turn each time I push a button.
I would appreciate some tips on how to solve this with an arduino.
My stepmotor is a 28BYJ-48.

reward feeding.JPG

Have a look at the stepper examples in the ide.

anqas:
I would appreciate some tips on how to solve this with an arduino.
My stepmotor is a 28BYJ-48.

Have you written a simple program to make the stepper motor move? If not, that is the first thing to do. There are dozens of Forum Threads about 28BYJ-48 stepper motors and I'm sure there are also many other online tutorials.

The 28BYJ motor needs 2048 steps per revolution so 1/10th of a revolution would be about 205 steps. Ten jumps of 205 steps would be a little too much so do 8 jumps of 205 steps and 2 jumps of 204 steps.

...R

You will loose quality friendship to the machine You intend to make. What would You prefer, being rewarded by a nice, loving human being or a machine?

Hi Railroader I will use this when I train agility and I can´t be in two places at the same time. If I send the dog to jump over agility obstacle or run true a tunnel I have to reward him exact when he is doing right and then I haw to reward him from distant.
And Robin2, I did not think of that maby I could have only 8 feeder make it 256 steps.

anqas:
And Robin2, I did not think of that maby I could have only 8 feeder make it 256 steps.

I don't think there is any need for each move to be the exact same number of steps. An error of 5 steps would only be about 1 degree. You just need to ensure that the total number of steps for a revolution is exact so that you don't get a long term error.

...R

So the trainer is not following the dog around the track and is not "there" when and where the dog performed well? Never mind....

The mechanics will be one major task.