Resetting Millis()

Is there a way to reset millis() via code?

I know it will roll over for about 50 days before resetting itself, however I was wondering if there was a way of resetting it as a line of code and maybe call it after a certain amount of days or even every night?

No, and there is not a single reason why you want to :wink: If you do it right, the roll over does not give you any trouble.

It will if I have a millis timed operation running at the exact time it resets to 0 won't it?.

I will be running water pumps that will be timed a to run for example 1 minute via millis. if it resets in the middle of this minute the pump will continue to run because it won't have hit the value expected.

(I am a novice at coding by the way so please take it easy on me)

No it will work just fine if you use unsigned variables and calculate the time intervals using subtraction.

stevelondon2:
It will if I have a millis timed operation running at the exact time it resets to 0 won't it?.

Nope :slight_smile: Not as long as you ALWAYS check like millisNow - millisLast >= interval (and use unsigned varaibles for millisLast and millisNow)

But do note, millis() isn't accurate. So timing 1 minute is fine but timing multiple days it will drift significant. And you can't prevent that with resetting either :wink: So it all depends on the application if that matters.

Your watch and wall clocks all roll over twice a day. When was the last time THAT caused you a problem?

Delta_G:
No it will work just fine if you use unsigned variables and calculate the time intervals using subtraction.

'unsigned long'
I always use 'uint32_t' to be explicitly clear.

what about article 1 on here (Just found a thread that I almost understand. lol.)

http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=184596.0