Reversible Electromagnets?

I'm trying to control two pairs of reversible electromagnets with the arduino with the circuit design here:
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/uploads/Learning/solenoid_driver.pdf
My question is this: given that this circuit is designed for a solenoid, I see no reason why it would be reversible. This is a main component of the function I need from my electromagnets, so I was wondering how exactly should I change the circuit to allow reverse current flow? I'm rather new at this and not exactly an expert in electrical engineering, so any help would be appreciated. I've checked the playground and haven't seen anything I would deem particularly helpful in this case.
Thanks!

If you want to reverse the direction... you treat it the same as you would a motor. You use an H-Bridge.

Alright, so where exactly in the circuit should I put the H-Bridge so that the arduino can control both current directions? If possible I need the circuit to be self-contained, so that all the work is handled by the arduino. Apologies if this is a stupid question, as I said I'm rather new to circuit design and microcontrollers.

It is always best to specify the voltage and the current of the device you want to drive, in this case your electromagnet, before one can recommend the best circuit or device to drive it.

H-drive devices can be as simple as a single IC component and your Arduion would control it with two digital output pins, one to command direction and the other to control on or off.

Lefty

I have not posted voltage/current because I'm not 100% certain about either. The electromagnets I'm trying to drive I wound myself, and I'm attempting to drive them off of a 12V 2.5A DC adapter plugged into a wall outlet. I would welcome any alternate suggestions as to a power source, though.