Robot arm coding troubles

Hi! I’m somewhat new to Arduino but I am learning pretty quickly but I’m confused about something.
I have a robot arm with a ping sensor on the end of it and I have it programmed to stop when i put my hand in front of it, yet when I do it only stops once it is complete with turning. How can I make it stop immediately? I am using continuous rotation servos. Also I have not added a claw yet so don’t ask why it isn’t in the code. Also the if and else statements are at the bottom.

WARNING!!! Newbie code ahead!

#define trigPin  2
#define echoPin  3
#define ledPin   13
#define piezo    10
#include <Servo.h>
Servo rotateServo;
Servo armServo1;
Servo armServo2;

void setup()
{
  //armServo1.attach(7);
  //armServo2.attach(8);
//rotateServo.attach(6);
  pinMode(trigPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(echoPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(piezo, OUTPUT);
  startup();
}

void startup()
{
 armServo1.attach(7);
 armServo2.attach(8);
 armServo1.write(88);
 armServo2.write(85);
 delay(700);
 armServo1.write(90);
 armServo2.write(90);
 armServo1.detach();
 armServo2.detach();
}

void rotateLeft()
{
 rotateServo.attach(6);
 rotateServo.write(95);
 delay(1500);
 rotateServo.detach();
}

void rotateRight()
{
 rotateServo.attach(6);
 rotateServo.write(88);
 delay(1500);
 rotateServo.detach();
}

void idle()
{
  armServo1.detach();
  armServo2.detach();
  rotateServo.detach();
}

void loop()
{

long duration, distance;
  digitalWrite(trigPin, LOW); // Added this line
  delayMicroseconds(2); // Added this line
  digitalWrite(trigPin, HIGH);

delayMicroseconds(10); // Added this line
  digitalWrite(trigPin, LOW);
  duration = pulseIn(echoPin, HIGH);
  distance = (duration/2) / 74;
  int inches = (distance);
  Serial.println(inches);
  delay(100);

if(distance >= 3)
  {
  rotateLeft();
  delay(900);
  rotateRight();
  delay(900);

}
else
{
tone(10, 20, 200);
idle();
}}