Rookie looking for guidance with 4 Full Color LEDs

Greetings,

Firstly, I'm a absolute rookie .. as noted in the subject title, so excuse the rudimentary questions. It's really exciting to step outside the realm of software engineering to hardware.

I'm working toward my first Arduino project, the basic concept involves;

• Arduino Uno
  • 4 RGB LEDs (6 legs)
  • 1 DC Motor
  • and a alcohol gas sensor

The user blows into the alcohol sensor > input > arduino calculates input and returns output as color, derived from a color scale*> output > RGB LEDs tween to color output value. The DC Motor is not apart of this interaction, it run's in the background.

To tackle this project i've decided to take a stepwise approach, separate it into 3 projects then bring it together at the end...

The first project is to illuminate the 4 RGB LEDs to a specific color in unison with a potentiometer, the potentiometer will stand in for the sensor before moving onto the next phase. The LEDs i have are 6 legged, rather than 4, which brings me to my first question... i'm unsure how this will impact in respect to programming? (e.g making it more complicated - 4 legs good, 6 legs bad?) i've found it hard to get info on this...

From what i understand, i need to use shift registers to run this many LEDs from the Arduino Uno as it has not got enough pins...

I've designed a breadboard diagram from this tut; http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ShiftOut

The LEDs are 5mm, i need them to be as bright as i can get them.. would this involve an external power source?

This may be stupid question, but its in context to the LEDs question... i have 12v adapter is it safe to plug it into the power input on the arduino as an external power source? or does it need an independent power supply, like so.. http://www.tinkersoup.de/product_info.php?products_id=162

before i start programming i'd like to get the communities advice on whether or not this is the best/easiest approach to the hardware...