Rotary Encoder

HI all, sorry for my bad english i speak french.

I have a problem with my rotary encoder i have the code:

if (digitalRead(3) == HIGH) {
    Serial.print("B1");
    delay(72);
    Serial.print("B2");
  } else {
    if (digitalRead(4) == HIGH) {
      Serial.print("C1");
      delay(72);
      Serial.print("C2");
    }

But when i turn rotary encoder to left or right i obtain:
C1C2B1B2C1C2C1C2C1C2C1C2C1C2

There are B1B2 and i don't have turn to the left.

Why ? Help me please

Did you study how a rotary encoder works?
There are tons of material in this forum and a lot of attempts to read a rotary encoder.

How is your setup? Do you use a library? (apparently not, looking at your code fraction).
Pls post your entire code.

I'm a beginner.
My code is :

void setup() {
    pinMode(2, OUTPUT);
    pinMode(3, OUTPUT);
    pinMode(4, OUTPUT);

Serial.begin(115200);
}

void loop() {

if (digitalRead(3) == HIGH) {
    Serial.print("B1");
    delay(72);
    Serial.print("B2");
  } else {
    if (digitalRead(4) == HIGH) {
      Serial.print("C1");
      delay(72);
      Serial.print("C2");
    }
  }

}

I just want to have B1 and B2 in monitor when i turn to right my rotary encoder and C1-C2 when i turn to left. :confused:

With that code, not going to happen... Indeed read a bit more about the rotary encoders.

Have you an example please ?
I want a basic code
Thank you

Let's see... Or here...

Simply said, it does not simply gives you a pulse on pin A for left and pin B for right. No matter the direction it will always pulse both pins. It's only the order which is different. A then B => direction A, B then A => direction B.

Google is your friend (as long as you're doing an apolitical search). I just searched "Arduino rotary encoder" and got 247,000 hits. I think one of those should help you.

I have already see on google but i don't understand..
And i post on arduino.cc because i don't have found solution.