Rotation of a Screw

I want to start a simple project and need to see it's feasibility (and complexity in case)

As you may see in the photo

I have a rotating handle (yellow thing) attached to a screw

My idea is to create a computer system, that can move back and forth that rotating handle (with or without the handle, I don't mind).

What I think I should start with, it's with a Servo Motor that somehow, I could attach to that handle.
I'm not sure how to measure the Torque needed (it's not a big number, but it's not a very low torque either).

Maybe there are some similar projects to orientate me. This is my first project in arduino and I would like to see if there is a nice start.

SirLouen:
I'm not sure how to measure the Torque needed.

Use a torque wrench?

What's under the yellow handle, ie what's the end of the shaft? A square that you could put a socket on?

You will have to measure the torque required to turn the shaft in order to pick the right (geared) motor.

One way to do that is wrap the shaft with fish line or string and hang a weight to the free end of the line. Add weight until the mechanism is driven. torque=force x shaft radius.

kenwood120s:
Use a torque wrench?

What's under the yellow handle, ie what's the end of the shaft? A square that you could put a socket on?

I can't pull that handle... it seems glued to the screw. I'm still trying to figure out how to remove it without damaging it.

jremington:
You will have to measure the torque required to turn the shaft in order to pick the right (geared) motor.

One way to do that is wrap the shaft with fish line or string and hang a weight to the free end of the line. Add weight until the mechanism is driven. torque=force x shaft radius.

I was thinking in some kind of tool to measure this. Because it will be really difficult to calculate the weight needed in horizontal position, unless I use a pulley or something (too much hassle i believe!). Do you know any tool that makes the trick?