Rs232 connection to arduino uno

Hi guys

Im wondering if someone can please help me. Can i connect directly to an serial device on tx and rx pins of arduino? I want to read the weight from an scale. Do i have to put an resistor on the rx and ground line? Im not experienced on electronic.

1 Like

Is the serial output from the scale TTL serial or is it "real" RS232 with ± 15V levels? If TTL you can connect directly. If "real" RS232, you will need a level shifter like a MAX232 or MAX233.

Hi thanx for the reply. Ive measured it its 5v. I seem to read data but its not correct values. But running from terminal it reads fine.

Baud rates, number of data bits, etc. match?

Hi guys.

Ive got an problem where im trying to read data on rs232. Data i receive is not actual values from scale. I receive ascii values like 191 241 154 and so on which is not coreect. But reading scale weight from terminal displays it correctly. What could be the problem? maybe serial port faulty?
Im running power from isb asn use rx pin to receive data. Thanx in advance.

Yes al match i get values like 191 154 241 ect

(deleted)

RS232 devices use high voltages that are not compatible with an Arduino's TTL voltage levels and may damage an Arduino. You can use a device such as a MAX232 to convert between RS232 and TTL voltage levels.

...R

Thread started here.

1 Like

What do you mean "running from terminal"? Are you plugging the scale into a PC to test it?

If so, the previous posters are correct - you cannot read RS-232 data on an Arduino without a TTL converter. The problem is not just that the voltage is wrong, but that RS-232 is upside-down.

I was just playing around with this over the weekend, so I've got a pretty clear idea of what's going on: When you send TTL serial data, the wire has a HIGH voltage when sending a 1 bit and a LOW voltage when sending a 0. These are called a mark and space; mark=1 and space=0.

RS-232 is different in two ways.