running a loop ONLY until a condition is met

Hi Guys

I am very new to programming but have managed one or two simple things.

This one however is driving me mad. I have a routine (if that's what its called) to drive a motor until a pointer reaches zero (detected by a hall sensor) and then stops. This I have working.

However (obviously) as soon as I drive the pointer forward the condition is false and my pointer reset loop runs returning the pointer to zero.

My question is how can I have the reset pointer loop run just once so when the pointer is at zero it never runs again until the Arduino is reset.

I have searched and read for a few days but cannot find this specific problem. I tried to put the loop into the setup section but, as expected, the loop does not 'loop' simply runs through once.

I apologise if this has been covered before but/and would greatly appreciate being pointed in the right direction. (no pun intended ;) )

thanks in advance

John

My question is how can I have the reset pointer loop run just once so when the pointer is at zero it never runs again until the Arduino is reset.

Write the code correctly. If you need help with that, you need to post your code.

Somehow, you seem to be able to determine that the "pointer" is, or is not, at 0. Once that happens, set a global variable to true, and use that variable in an if statement to determine whether or not to run some code again.

bool pointerAtZero = false;

void loop()
{
   if(!pointerAtZero)
   {
      movePointerToZero();
      pointerAtZero = true;
   }

// other stuff
}

Welcome,

Use a boolean variable, set default value to false.

Check if it's false, if yes, do your loop thing and set the variable to true. As long as the variable stay true, that part of code will not run again.

Hi Guys

my ‘code’ is a mess LOL.

I shall post it though please ignore a lot of my comments as I am probably the only one they make sense to.