Sampling frequency

Hello,

I am an undergraduate student at a public university in Maryland. I am currently doing a project with an arduino and I came across a problem that I could not figure out after several days of researching. Regarding my project, I am trying to collect 6 data (acceleration and gyration in x,y,z) from an accelerometer/gyroscope sensor at a desired constant rate (trying to make it 1000 Hz, so about 1000 sets of the 6 data per second) into a SD card. However, I could not make the arduino do this; I am able to collect the data, but not at a constant sampling frequency of 1000 Hz. Could someone help me set the sampling frequency at 1000 Hz please. Here are some of the information of the sensors and arduino I am using:

1. Arduino nano - https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardNano
  2. MPU-6050 gy-521 accelerometer/gyroscope - http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/MPU-6050
  3. SD card reader - http://www.aliexpress.com/item/SD-Card-Reader-Module-for-Arduino-ARM-Read-and-Write-Free-shipping/526750081.html?spm=2114.12010108.1000023.4.JkncUu&spm=2114.12010108.1000023.4.JkncUu

Also, I have attached my code and some of the libraries I am using. Thank you in advance for the help.

project.ino (2.85 KB)

I2Cdev.h (11.9 KB)

MPU6050.h (43.3 KB)

All that printing to the SD card takes time. Shorten what you print and you may be able to measure faster.

Remove all the lcd. and Serial. stuff in the sampling loop. They are slowing you down a lot.

Pete

Writing to SD is slower than you might expect. The Arduino uses a very simple communication with the card, unlike a camera which can do many megabytes per second.

Reduce the number of chars you write. Reduce the number of times you open or close the file. If that still doesn’t work fast enough, look for an optimized SD library. There are some big speed ups possible, depending on your usage pattern.

Writing to SD is slower than you might expect.