Sending data from Arduino to PC using Bluetooth

Hi.

I’m new with Arduino, and right now I’m just messing around to see what I can do with it.

I’ve been given an Arduino Uno and a Bluetooth module attached to a Wireless Shield from a professor, but he didn’t tell me how exactly should I use this module. I can’t even find relevant information on the internet… all I can find is that the Wireless Shield is supposed to be used with a Xbee module, not a Bluetooth module. I can’t even find information about the Bluetooth module itself I have here!

The module is this one:
http://imgur.com/a/HkxaY (sorry for the loss of focus on the second image)

I put it on the Wireless Shield, and I put that on top of the Arduino Uno. When I connect it to the pc it appears like this:
Imgur

The TX and RX pins are not connected because the professor told me that it would cause problems (I tried connecting them and I couldn’t upload any code on the Arduino because of seemingly random errors that I couldn’t understand or resolve).

After connecting the Arduino to the computer, the Bluetooth starts working. I’m using Windows, so the first time I added the device to the known bluetooth ones, and 2 COM ports appeared with the name “Standard Serial over Bluetooth link”.

The next thing I did was testing it. I uploaded a sample code I found on the internet for testing:

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

int counter = 0;

int rxPin = 3;
int txPin = 2;
SoftwareSerial bluetooth(rxPin, txPin);

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  bluetooth.begin(9600); //set baud rate
}

void loop() {
  counter++;
  bluetooth.print("Arduino counter: ");
  bluetooth.println(counter);
  delay(500); // wait half a sec
}

Note that I use “random” pins for TX and RX. I’ve no idea what to use there.