Serial.available behavior

I'm an absolute beginner with coding, and this might be my first post here. Apologies if I'm wasting anyone's time.

I'm going through a book called "Arduino for Musicians" and in one of the early chapters, I'm going over an "if (Serial.available...)" example. The point of the sketch is to input a number into the serial monitor, and then the Arduino spits out the square, cube, and whether the number is odd or even.
Everything works as expected, except quickly after the answers appear in the serial monitor, another set of answers appears as if there was a second input 0. This is strange, as the loop starts with:

if (Serial.available() > 0)

Why would the Arduino respond to 0 as an input? And furthermore, why does it behave as if another entry was made? No matter what number you enter into the serial monitor, it spits back both the correct answers to that number as well as the answers to 0, always as a pair, with the answers to 0 lagging by some milliseconds.

When I change the code to the following:

if (Serial.available() > 1)

it no longer adds the additional "ghost" entry answers and behaves exactly as expected (with the exception it gives back an answer for 0, but only if you type it in).

I poked around some but couldn't find anything relevant, how can find some information about this specific behavior? Is there something in this code causing that odd behavior? Is there something more elegant than the solution I found? Anyone here recognize what's going on? I've pasted the entire code below, and a screen shot of the serial monitor with the code. Thanks!

void setup()
{
    Serial.begin(9600);
    Serial.println("Enter a number: ");
}

void loop()
{
    if (Serial.available() > 0)
    { 
        long input_byte = Serial.parseInt();

long square = input_byte * input_byte;

Serial.print("The square of the number is: ");

Serial.println(square);

long cube = input_byte * input_byte * input_byte;