Serial communication using Rx/Tx pins

Hello!
I am a beginner and have understood and experimented the basic examples available on the site using an uno.
For my next project I have to send and receive data via the serial pins ( 0 and 1) from my uno.
I am using a D - SUN - V3.0 USB to TTL converter for my cause but for some strange cause my board will not listen to the data sent by the PC from the serial monitor.
Everything works fine when I use the USB cable and life is beautiful. Arduino can even send the data through the TTL converter so neither the component not the code is the problem.
for example

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
     Serial.println("Hello world!");

delay(1000) ;
}

this works fine and prints a hello world after each second
but

char dummy ;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  if ( Serial.available() > 0) {
    dummy = Serial.read() ;
    Serial.println("Hello world!");

}
  delay(1000) ;
}

this wont say hello to the world no matter what I send from the serial monitor
also wish to know if I can upload my code via the USB to TTL and if anyone has ever tried it instead of the safe USB cable method.
Google doesnt helps me anymore!

I'm confused: what EXACTLY is your setup?

Are you using serial comms between two Arduinos, or between an Arduino and a PC.
Can you post a hand drawn schematic and/or picture of your setup and connections?

Do you mean

Serial.println(dummy);

That will print what you send.
Leo..

Are you trying to use Pins 0 and 1 for two different purposes at the same time? Those pins are used when sending data with the USB cable. Maybe you need to create another serial port on different pins using SoftwareSerial for your USB to serial connection?

When using the USB-TTL converter have you a connection to Arduino GND as well as to the Tx and Rx pins?

...R

1. I wish to communicate between arduino and PC