Serial monitor keeps printing "14"

Hello,
I was playing with a cheap soil humidity sensor, hooked it up properly and wrote a code, but no matter what I do the serial monitor keeps printing "14". I tried several codes and none of them seemed to change anything. I even tried another arduino board.

int sensorPin = A0;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {
  int hum = analogRead(sensorPin);
  serial.print(hum);
  delay(1000);

}

I'm a real noob when it comes to arduino and programming but I didn't find any answers on the internet and I want to learn how to avoid mistakes like this one.

Cheers, smart people :slight_smile:

It's pretty common for sensors to be associated with some form of library, often requiring a #include <libraryname.h> directive near the top of the source file. Does the sensor you're using not use any libraries in the code examples?

I've checked few tutorials and there is no libraries included, or I'm just extremely retarded.
Even if it needed one, why "14" over and over again? Maybe there's something wrong with the sensor.
I've done much much more complicated projects and had no problems, now I cant even get it to print sensor's value.

I'll keep trying to fix it.

Please post your actual code.
A0 == 14.

I did, that's all. I wanted to work further but if I cant get propper values there is no point in doing more of it.

No, post your code as it appears in the IDE, not some junk that doesn't compile, or what you think your code looks like.

Don't call my code junk, it DOES compile and that's really it.
Really, I didn't write anything more 'cause I got upset with what I have so far.
As I said I don't really know much about programming but all my projects went without problems.

serial.print(hum);

Tell me about "serial".

Honestly I changed the code so many times that I made this mistake probably after fifth take on it but it doesn't change anything at all.

So, post your code as it is now, and post the results it produces.