Servo Motor Code problem

Hi!
So I am trying to write some code that tells a servo to spin for x amount of time every 24 hours. I am not sure how to do this, do you have any ideas? I am completely new to coding so sorry if this is a dumb question.

@johanwik Installation and Troubleshooting is for Problems with the Arduino itself NOT your project. It says so in the description of the section. Therefore I have moved your post here.

You may want to read this before you proceed:-
how to get the best out of this forum

Generally servos do not spin, they only turn over a limited range normally under 240 degrees. Unless you have a so called "continuous servo", which is not a servo at all but a normal motor.

You need to be a lot more specific about what your project is about before anything meaningful can be discussed.

Few things to say before going into details:

• Typical servos don't "spin", they wiggle from side to side. So if you really do mean spin, like a wheel, make sure you get what's called a "continuous rotation" servo. (edit... as mentioned by previous poster)

• Do you need this to happen at a particular time of day, like 5 past 3 every afternoon? If so you will need to get either an RTC (Real time clock) or be online to internet time.

• If you are just thinking of 24 hours since last time, you could use the internal timer of an Arduino but you will need to look at the accuracy. You'll also need to be aware that the time starts over if Arduino loses power...

Hi, @johanwik

Can you tell us the application?
What do you want your project to accomplish?

Thanks... Tom.. :smiley: :+1: :coffee: :australia:

to answer as unspecific as you:

write a routine that creates the servo-control-signal according to the specs of the datasheet of the servo.

In a regular manner read out the time of a real-time-clock (RTC) and compare actual time with the time to spin the servo.

Does this description help? No not at all.