Servo Problem

I'm new to Arduino things, and I've just got myself an Arduino Uno. I'm using the example servo code that comes in the Arduino application. So basically I'm using a potentiometer on input A0, and then mapping that to a value of between 0 and 255 for the analog output PWM on pin 9. I've checked over and over that I have cables in the right place. I've checked the serial message box thing that the value of the potentiometer is always between 0 and 255. I've checked the wiring over and over, and I've tried using several different servos but all have the same problem. The servo doesn't respond to any change of the potentiometer, and it just jitters violently and heats up rather fast. To my understanding, the output pin (9 in this case) is supposed to change the duty cycle, between full-duty and no-duty depending on the 0 to 255 input from the potentiometer. When output to a servo, the servo should react by turning to an appropriate angle. Am I doing anything wrong?

If you use a regular hobby RC-Servo and don't use the Servo library but some PWM output, throw your program away and try again with the Servo Library. If you use the Servo Library, post your code.

Korman

Hi, I’m using this example code:

#include <Servo.h> 

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo 

int potpin = 0;  // analog pin used to connect the potentiometer
int val;    // variable to read the value from the analog pin 

void setup() 
{ 
  myservo.attach(9);  // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object 
} 

void loop() 
{ 
  val = analogRead(potpin);            // reads the value of the potentiometer (value between 0 and 1023) 
  val = map(val, 0, 1023, 0, 179);     // scale it to use it with the servo (value between 0 and 180) 
  myservo.write(val);                  // sets the servo position according to the scaled value 
  delay(15);                           // waits for the servo to get there 
}