Setting up on Windows 7

:disappointed_relieved: I'm trying to set up Arduino Uno on Windows 7. After downloading software, I'm unable to install drivers because the Device Manager does not contain any listing for ports, COM, or anything that looks promising. Any advice?

Plug it in!

Thank you, madworm! I'm a total newby, I'm afraid. I did have it plugged in, but I run into a problem with this stage in the driver installation:

"While in the Control Panel, navigate to System and Security. Next, click on System. Once the System window is up, open the Device Manager. Look under Ports (COM & LPT). You should see an open port named "Arduino UNO (COMxx)""

On Device Manager, there isn't any listing for Ports (COM & LPT). Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Hmmm. Do you have a genuine UNO ?

What's the text on the black chip next to the USB connector?

It says: MEGA8U2 1109 TH 9F3671-1

I think it's genuine. Do you think it might be damaged?

How would I determine whether my new Arduino Uno is defective?

Well, if you don't see any change at all whether the board is plugged in or not...

You could try putting the ATmega8U2 into 'DFU' mode and reload the firmware. I don't have a link, but you'll find it on the forum.

If that fails as well, get a replacement board.

I’m having the same problem and I don’t think it’s an Arduino hardware issue. There simply is nowhere to choose which port (attachment 1). When I right click on the ‘unknown device’ and choose ‘update drivers’, the result is attachment two, which clearly has no ‘ArduinoUNO.inf’ file to choose. The file does exist if I just open the folder from the desktop and look for it (attachment 3). Any ideas?

Just select the folder. It will know what to do after that.